world within us

Shaped by environment

Friday | April 14th 2023

World Within Us


We all live in this world, but there is a piece of world within each of us.

Why has Evolution shaped our bodies into what we are today?

How does the Environment define our anatomy and physiology?

What does the Future hold for our species?

In the module World Within Us: Shaped By Environment, we will discuss the ways the environment around us shapes our biology and the impact these interactions have on our health. Let’s enroll on this adventure to the center of the world within us!

Nathan H. Lents, PhD

Professor of Biology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Author of the Book “Human Errors: a Panorama of Our Glitches, from Pointless Bones do Broken Genes”

Nathan Lents is an American scientist, author and University Professor, known for his work in the fields of cell biology, genetics and forensic science. He also writes blogs, scientific articles, and books on the evolution of human biology and behavior, most notably his acclaimed book “Human Errors: A Panorama of Our Glitches, from Pointless Bones to Broken Genes”.


Cara Ocobock, PhD

Director of the Human Energetics Laboratory at Notre Dame University
Institute for Global Health at the University of Notre Dame

Cara Ocobock is the Director of the Human Energetics Laboratory at Notre Dame University in Washington. Her research program integrates human biology and anthropology, with a focus on the interaction between anatomy, physiology, evolution, and the environment, exploring the physiological and behavioral mechanisms necessary to cope with and adapt to extreme climate and physical activity.

Furthermore, Cara Ocobock is part of the Institute for Global Health at the University of Notre Dame and has published dozens of scientific articles, receiving several awards over the years for the exemplary work she has developed in this area.

Diarmid Campbell-Lendrum, PhD

Head of the Climate Change Unit at WHO Headquarters

Diarmid Campbell-Lendrum is the Head of the Climate Change and Health Unit at WHO Headquarters. He has worked on this cause for over 20 years, playing key roles in the first quantitative estimates of the global health impacts of climate change, World Health Assembly resolutions, WHO Global Conferences, and the expansion of WHO’s Climate Change and Health Support to over 30 low and middle income countries.

Diarmid Campbell-Lendrum is the author of over 100 scientific articles, reports and book chapters, lead author of three Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports, and the first health report for the UN Climate Negotiations.


Rúben Oliveira, MSc

Biologist, Ecologist, and Science Communicator

Rúben Sousa de Oliveira is a biologist, ecologist, and science communicator. He has a Master’s Degree in Conservation Biology from the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Lisbon, and a post-graduation in Ecology and Environmental Management. He is a member of cE3c‘s Communication Office, the National Board for the League of Nature Protection (LPN), the Portuguese Society of Ecology (SPECO), where he coordinates the Network for Communication and Dissemination of Ecology, and the Portuguese Society of Etology (SPE). He is co-founder of the Science Festivals Pint of Science Portugal and FIC.A, as well as co-author of “Um Pouco Por Toda a Parte: A Ecologia no Século XXI”.

Scientific Committee
Sérgio Almeida, PhD
Director of the SAlmeida Lab at the Instituto de Medicina Molecular, Lisbon
Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Lisbon
BSc in Biochemistry from the University of Coimbra
PhD in Biomedical Sciences from the University of Porto
Post-doctoral fellow from the Instituto de Medicina Molecular, Lisbon
Isabel Gordo, PhD
Group Leader of Evolutionary Biology Research Group at the Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
Member of The Committee of The PhD Program at the Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
BSc in Physics from the Instituto Superior Técnico
PhD in Evolutionary Biology from the University of Edinburgh
Former Deputy Director of the Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência